A eulogy for the mostly competitive 2007-2011 Cardinals

Aaron Dorman's blog

Moderator: WhiteSox

Astros
Name: Ty Bradley

A eulogy for the mostly competitive 2007-2011 Cardinals

Post by Astros »

Looking at the shell of my team, I feel like I'm at a funeral, so the only thing to do is give it a proper burial and that'll require a eulogy. Can you tell I'm an unemployed college graduate with too much time on my hands?

While the 2004 and 2005 Cards won the NL Wild Card, those teams overall weren't very good, good enough to push Nils to 5 games in the NLDS each year, but not threats to win it all so I'm not including them in this era. The real golden era of the IBC Cardinals was 2007-2009.

Going into 2007 I thought I was the team to beat. I had good pitching and such a deep lineup that Pat Burrell was on the bench most of the year. A couple of in season trades for Jeremy Sowers (remember when he was supposed to be good?) and John Lackey (remember when he was good?), tag teamed with Roy Oswalt and Jon Garland still living off his great 2005 season, propelled me to 110 wins despite having a rash of injuries. I lucked out in that every guy I grabbed off the free agent list, be it Matt Kata, Julio Franco, Brian Horwitz, all hit well for me. All those guys started in the playoffs. I swept the NLDS and won the NLCS and WS in 5 and had my first title. Boy was I happy.